Buddhist Chaplaincy Service
Perth, Western Australia
For all Schools, Colleges, Universities and Public around the World.

    The following guidelines are laid out by the Lord Buddha in order to bring happiness, peace and success in one's life. The
    principle of doing no harm to oneself and to others.

    In Buddhism, it is not said that one "MUST NOT" do things. It only suggests one to "REFRAIN" from doing unwholesome
    things. From not refraining from doing unwholesome things, it would bring no benefits to oneself and to others. Only
    miseries, troubles, problems and difficulties as a consequence.

    For those who refrain and follow the guidelines, have peace, tranquillity, happiness and a rewarding life.

    Five Precepts:
    1. I undertake the precept to refrain from killing
    2. I undertake the precept to refrain from taking what is not given
    3. I undertake the precept to refrain from sexual misconduct
    4. I undertake the precept to refrain from speaking what is not the truth (lies)
    5. I undertake the precept to refrain from taking intoxicating drinks
    And drugs (alcohol, non-medicinal drugs, smoking and inhaling

    Note: Buddhism is a process of gradual developments. One is not expected to be able to follow these guidelines overnight.
    The development comes not from suppressing, but from gaining wisdom. Understanding of why we refrain from doing these
    unwholesome things. It is from understanding the 'causes and conditions' and the deliberate actions that we do, which
    create the results that we are facing NOW. In other words, we own these results because we are the ones who had
    performed those acts in the first place.

    For example, if you like drinking alcohol, try and give up gradually. If you usually drink a bottle now, try and drink only two
    thirds of it. Then gradually drink only half. In a few months or year, you will be able to drink only a glass or two. As your
    wisdom develops, you will eventually give it up by yourself. No one will have to encourage you. It's like walking naked. You
    will feel ashamed of yourself and you won't do it anymore.

    Ten Perfections (Paramis)
    1. Dana - Generosity and contribution in many ways for the welfare of others.
    2. Sila - Development of wholesome moral conduct.
    3. Nekkhamma - Renunciation of sensual pleasures to maintain contentment.
    4. Panna - Development of understanding to gain wisdom.
    5. Viriya - Cultivation of physical & mental energy to maintain purity & service.
    6. Khanti - Patience, non-violence and peaceful attitudes.
    7. Sacca - Truthfulness and sincerity.
    8. Adhitthana - Resolution. Determination or development of will power.
    9. Metta - Radiation of loving-kindness or goodwill.
    10. Upekkha - Equanimity, impartiality or balanced mind.

    Things Buddhist avoid:
    Ten Kinds of Evil Actions

    Three Evil Actions by Body
    -        killing
    -        Stealing
    -        Sexual Misconduct

    Four Evil actions by Speech
    -        Lying
    -        Slandering
    -        Harsh Speech
    -        Frivolous talk

    Three Evil Actions by Mind
    -        Covetousness: Jealously eager for the possession of the property of another person.
    -        Ill-Will
    -        Wrong View

    Wrong View
    -        Belief that intentional actions (kamma), good or bad, do not bear any retribution.
    -        View that things are not changing and they are permanent.
    -        Believe in the "Ego"
    -        Denial of one's obligation towards ones' mother and father.
    -        Denial of efficacy of dana.
    -        Denial of efficacy of generosity.